Welcome to the website of School of Life Science and Technology!

  

Life science is an eternal theme of mankind. Ever since the dawn of civilization, countless sages have marveled about the wonder of life, sighed about the inevitability of sickness and death, and relentlessly pursued the improvement of health and longevity. Since the middle of the last century, life science has experienced rapid development and has generated profound impacts on key issues in medicine, food, energy, and environment. Today, research in life science is leading a new wave of revolution in changing how we live.

  

Answering the call of our era, School of Life Science and Technology was established in 2013 as one of the four founding schools of ShanghaiTech University. In just four years, our School has made remarkable progress in faculty development, education, and research. Through international recruitment, as of October 2017, our School has established an excellent faculty composed of 42 tenure-track faculty members and a cadre of teaching- and research-track faculty members. In addition, we have 88 adjunct professors who are distinguished scientists from the Chinese Academy of Science and the United States, including a Nobel Laureate and Members of National Academies of Science of China and of the US. These adjunct faculty members are deeply involved in our research, graduate training, and undergraduate education.

  

Our School actively explores new approaches to higher education. Our undergraduate students enjoy education in small-class settings as well as in residential colleges. In addition, our School has established “3+1”exchange programs that allow students to study one year abroad at Harvard, Yale, Oxford, Cornell, UC Berkeley, the University of Chicago, and the University of Illinois, to broaden their horizons. Our students are thriving in these world-class universities. In 2016, ShanghaiTech’s undergraduate students, mostly from our School, participated in the international iGEM contest at MIT for the first time, and our teams are among the gold and silver medal recipients. Graduate students in the School have become the main force of scientific research, and have made world-class discoveries within just a few years. In 2017, ShanghaiTech’s undergraduate students again won an iGEM gold medal. Upon graduation, our master degree students have all been either employed by leading companies or admitted to top PhD programs internationally.

  

Reflecting on the growth of the School in the past four years, we are deeply grateful to the Shanghai Municipal Government, the Chinese Academy of Science, and peer institutions in Shanghai for their strong support. 

  

This is an era of life science and technology. Our School is striving to accelerate the pace of growth to become a world-class school with a unique style for life science research and talent training. Together with you, we hope to pursue our dream with passion and create history through determination!



Haifan Lin, Ph.D.

Founding Dean (Adjunct)

December 8, 2017


返回原图
/

欢迎您访问上科大生命科学与技术学院主页!

  

生命科学是人类永恒的主题。古今中外,无数先哲都为生命的奇妙而赞叹,也为生老病死而感伤,更为人类的健康而探索。时光荏苒,进入二十一世纪以来,生命科学延续了上世纪中叶以来迅猛发展的势头,对医学、粮食、能源及环境等与人类生存息息相关的问题产生了深远的影响。生命科学领域的研究正在引领新一轮科技革命。

  

勇于对时代的担当,生命科学与技术学院作为上科大的四大创始学院之一于2013年应运而生。在短短的的四年里,生命学院广聘海内外杰出人才,从无到有,迅猛发展,在学科建设、人才培养和科学研究等方面都取得了长足的进步。截至20179月,我院已拥有41位博士生导师与优秀的教学、研究系列的师资。并有88位来自中科院与美国名校的特聘教授, 包括多位中国科学院院士、美国科学院院士与一位诺贝尓奖得主,深度参与学院的科研、教学与本科生、研究生的培养。

  

我院积极尝试高教新模式,已招四届本科生共216人,五届研究生共774人。本科生享受学院、书院双轨制教育与导师制辅导。而且,他们能通过“3+1教育计划在哈佛、耶鲁、牛津、康奈尔、加州大学伯克利分校及芝加哥大学就读,并在这些名校的学习中表现优异。2016年以我院本科生为主的两支上科大学生队伍首次参加国际iGEM大赛,初试锋芒,分别成为金、银奖获得团队之一。我院研究生更已成为科研的主力军,在短短的几年中,已取得多项国际领先的科研成果。我院的硕士毕业生享有100%的就业升学率,被国内外一流企业录用,或继续在国内外一流高校攻读博士学位。

  

回首四年来的成长,我们感恩上海市政府、中科院及在沪多所兄弟院校的殷切关怀与鼎力支持。我们真诚希望社会各界对我院的发展继续予以关注、建议和支持,与我们一起为实现中国梦励精图志、携手进取。

  

风云际会,春华秋实,这是生命科学与技术的时代。与您同行,我们学院正在加快成长的步伐,力争成为生命科学领域具有独特风格与国际一流的科学研究与高级人才培养基地。我们正在用行动践行上科大立志、成才、报国、裕民的办学理念,用努力创造历史、用激情追求梦想!


上海科技大学生命科学与技术科学院 创始院长 林海帆


返回原图
/